Aarhus University Hospital

The Department of Ophthalmology at AUH has, for many years, been the leading centre in Denmark for treatment of corneal diseases and CT and also hosts the only cornea bank in the country. All patients from the western part of Denmark needing CT as well as many patients from eastern Denmark and the Copenhagen area are treated in the department. Between 200 and 250 CT procedures are performed annually at AUH with the largest proportion (60- 70%) of these now being posterior lamellar transplants. Since the late 1960s, all Danish citizens have been identified with a central registry number. Thus, comprehensive follow-up and registry studies on patients treated many years ago are more readily achieved in Denmark compared with many other countries.

  • Prof. Jesper Hjortdal received his medical degree from Aarhus University in 1987 and became a specialist in ophthalmology in 1997. He trained in corneal and refractive surgery at AUH and Moorfield’s Eye Hospital, London, UK. In 2001 he became consultant at the Department of Ophthalmology, AUH and was appointed Professor of Ophthalmology at AU in 2009. Prof Hjörtdal has published more than 90 original peer-reviewed papers mainly on corneal and refractive surgery related to corneal optics and biomechanical properties of the cornea. His doctoral thesis from 1997 was on biomechanical properties of the cornea in relation to refractive surgery. Prof Hjörtdal is the main supervisor of several PhD students. Since 2010 he has been President for the Danish Ophthalmological Society and from Feb. 2013 he will become President of the European Eye Bank Association.