Institut National de la Santé et de la Recherche Médicale

The Joint Research Unit INSERM UMR 1064 (Center for Research in Transplantation and Immunology) and the Departments of Clinical Immunology, Nephrology and Urology constitute the Institute of Transplantation-Urology- Nephrology (ITUN) where scientists and clinicians collaborate to develop innovative strategies to improve patient health by integrating clinical, molecular, cellular and in vivo approaches. ITUN research is facilitated by 3,000 m2 of laboratory space, two animal facilities and 5 investigative teams with 160 personnel including 27 full-time researchers and 15 permanent clinicians. The transplant program is supported by a validated clinical data registry (DIVAT), a large bio-bank (DIVAT-Biocoll) and a clinical research facility (Centre d’Investigation Clinique). Laboratory research focuses on human transplant immunology and immune profiling of organ transplant recipients. The team has identified novel biomarkers of kidney transplant outcome and has published numerous papers on T- and B-cell responses. They have developed novel methodologies for multi-colour flow cytometric immunophenotyping, analysis of TCR V repertoire (TcLandscape®), assessment of B-cell replication history (sjKREC), monitoring of IGHV repertoire and measurement by fast qPCR of transcriptional biomarkers of rejection and graft survival identified in kidney and liver transplantation.

  • Dr. Sophie Brouard specialises in basic and translational immunology of rejection and tolerance in transplantation and autoimmunity. She was appointed to INSERM UMR 1064 in 2002 after a fellowship at Harvard Medical School and is now Director of Research and Director of the CENTAURE Transplantation Research Network. She has received several awards including the Bronze Medal from the CNRS (2004) and the National Medical Academy Prize (2012). She has authored 86 original papers, 28 reviews and is co-recipient of 10 patents.
  • Dr. Nicolas Degauque is a full-time researcher at INSERM UMR 1064 since 2010. He received his PhD from University of Nantes followed by a fellowship at Harvard Medical School, USA. His research focuses on T- and B-cell immunology in clinical transplantation. He has received The Transplantation Society Fellowship in 2008 and a Young Investigator Clinical Research Grant from the ESOT in 2012 as well a 5-year clinical research grant from the University Nantes Hospital. He is author of 33 original research papers and is Associate Director of the FOCIS COE.